In the eyes of the Gods…
SOVS part V and IV students celebrating a successful year at the 2023 EyeBall

In the eyes of the Gods…

October 20, 2023 Jordan Cooper and Carol D'Souza

Themed ‘In the eyes of the gods – a night on Mount Olympus’, this year’s EyeBall unfolded on 26 August at Auckland’s Hilton Hotel.


Guests included staff and students from the School of Optometry and Vision Science (SOVS) at the University of Auckland, who were treated to a lavish banquet and open bar, and enjoyed a night of socialising with future colleagues. As the formal segment of the evening drew to a close, guests hit the dance floor and enjoyed the opportunity to let their hair down.


SOVS staff dressed the part



The success of this year’s EyeBall would not have been possible without the generous support of our wonderful sponsors, with EssilorLuxottica once again taking up the mantle as our platinum sponsor and several of their representatives travelling from Australia to enjoy the event. A heartfelt thank you also to Specsavers, once again our gold sponsor. We also extend our gratitude to silver sponsors Ophthalmic Instrument Company and the New Zealand Association of Optometrists, as well as our bronze sponsors, Eye Institute and Bailey Nelson. Their contributions elevated the event to an unforgettable evening.


Prizes – generously provided by EssilorLuxottica, Specsavers, Blade Brow Bar, Optimed, CooperVision, Designs for Vision, Oscar Wylee and the New Zealand Optometry Student Society – provided high levels of excitement. Winners, for categories including ‘best dressed’, ‘best duo’ and ‘most flinchy patient’, were decided by popular vote. Several staff members also played a role in selecting the best-dressed individuals on the night, much to everyone's entertainment.


The culmination of seven months of planning and dedication from the EyeBall committee manifested in a spectacular night that left everyone proud. Our attention now turns to final exams and the conclusion of the academic year!



Jordan Cooper and Carol D’Souza are part IV class representatives and co-chairs of the 2023 EyeBall Committee, which also included part IV students Emily Kaimimura, Julia Lin and Princess Libo-On.